Utilities earn APPA safety awards

Four NMPP member utilities were among 166 utilities nationally that earned the American Public Power Association’s (APPA) Safety Award of Excellence for safe operating practices in 2022, APPA recently announced.

The four utilities honored were the City of Fort Morgan, Colo., Wavery (Iowa) Utilities, Nebraska City Utilities, and the Nebraska Public Power District.

There were 283 utilities from across the country that submitted applications for the annual Safety Awards. Entrants were placed in categories according to their number of worker-hours and ranked based on the most incident-free records during 2022.

A utility’s incidence rate, used to judge entries, is based on its number of work-related reportable injuries or illnesses and the number of worker-hours during 2022, as defined by the federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration.

The Safety Awards have been held annually for more than 65 years.