NMPP member utilities earn APPA reliability honors

Three member utilities of the Nebraska Municipal Power Pool (NMPP) were among 219 utilities nationally to recently earn a “Certificate of Excellence in Reliability” in 2022 from the American Public Power Association.

The three utilities were Waverly (Iowa) Utilities, City of Grand Island (Neb.) Utilities and Hastings (Neb.) Utilities.

Utilities that subscribe to APPA’s eReliability Tracker service are eligible to earn these certificates. To earn a certificate, a utility’s 2022 System Average Interruption Duration Index must fall in the top quartile of all utilities’ SAIDI (System Average Interruption Duration Index) numbers averaged from the past five years based on Energy Information Administration Form 861 survey data.

The certificates recognize utilities that have provided exceptionally reliable service and power to their communities.

NMPP member utilities earn APPA’ s RP3 Designation

Five Nebraska Municipal Power Pool members were among 109 public power utilities nationwide that recently earned the Reliable Public Power Provider (RP3) designation from the American Public Power Association for providing reliable and safe electric service.

The RP3 designation, which lasts for three years, recognizes public power utilities that demonstrate proficiency in four key disciplines: reliability, safety, workforce development, and system improvement. Criteria include sound business practices and a utility-wide commitment to safe and reliable delivery of electricity.

“Receiving an RP3 designation is a great honor signifying a utility has demonstrated commitment to industry best practices,” said Troy Adams, Chair of APPA’s RP3 Review Panel and General Manager at Manitowoc Public Utilities, Wis. "And ultimately, the culture developed from this pursuit of excellence and continued improvement through the RP3 program results in measurable value delivered to the local community.”  

This is the eighteenth year that RP3 recognition has been offered. NMPP member utilities earning the designation were Waverly (Iowa) Utilities (2021), City of Grand Island, Neb., (2023), City of Fort Morgan, Colo. (2023), Lincoln (Neb.) Electric System (2021) and Nebraska Public Power District (2023).