Join us in Lincoln!

Annual Conference 2024 banner

The conference is a great opportunity to join your peers and colleagues from the region to learn about today's issues facing municipalities in the areas of energy, economic development and much more.



Rulon GardnerRulon Gardner photo

U.S. Olympic wrestling champion
and former Univ. of Nebraska wrestler

"Seven Steps to Success"

Rulon will share his personal experiences to illustrate how persistence leads to success. His presentation will focus on several real-world and useful tactics such as:

  • Going Back to the Basics
  • Turning Negatives into Positives
  • Aim High When You’re Feeling Low
  • Train Hard and
  • Don’t Rest of your Laurels

Rulon, a former University of Nebraska wrestler, earned a gold medal in wrestling in the 2000 Sydney, Australia Olympics. His performance was dubbed “Miracle on the Mat” as he rose from relative obscurity to defeat Russia’s three-time Olympic gold medalist Alexander Karelin, who had been undefeated since 1985. He also earned a bronze medal at the 2004 Olympics in Athens, Greece.

For his Olympic efforts Gardner was named the 2000 Sportsman of the Year by the United States Olympic Committee and was also the recipient of the U.S. Olympic Spirit Award. He is also the 2001 ESPY Award recipient of the U.S. Male Olympic Athlete of the Year and a Jesse Owens Award recipient for sportsmanship.

Since his Olympic wrestling career came to an end, Gardner has displayed the same sense of determination and fighting spirit in his endeavors.

He wrote the 2005 motivational autobiography “Never Stop Pushing: My Life from a Wyoming Farm to the Olympic Medals Stand”, served as an inspiration on the NBC television show “The Biggest Loser” and was honored with the James E. Sullivan Memorial Award, which is given to the nation's top amateur athlete for athletic excellence, leadership, sportsmanship, and character.

Danette Scudder

Executive Vice President and CSO, TVPPA
Vice President, Distributors Insurance

"Is it the Jetsons or Gen Z? Creating an ‘Out of this World’ Workplace for the Future"Danette Scudder photo

There are five generations in the workplace today – each with differing value systems and priorities. That means there is potential for miscommunication, conflict and confusion. At the same time, the diversity of thought, capabilities and expertise that a cross-generational team can bring to the table can take creativity, innovation and problem solving to a new level. In this session we will explore what drives – and divides – the different generations with a goal of creating a better understanding of how we can bridge the generation gap to create resilient organizations in the rapidly-changing utility industry.

Danette Scudder is executive vice president and chief strategy officer for the Tennessee Valley Public Power Association, which serves 153 consumer-owned electric utilities that purchase wholesale electric power from the Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) and distribute it in Tennessee, Alabama, Mississippi, Kentucky, Georgia, Virginia and North Carolina.

Conference Session Topics

  • A list of Conference session topics is coming soon!

Annual Conference 2024 Call for Awards

The 2024 NMPP Energy Annual Conference will recognize annual Project of the Year Awards and individual awards. This is a great time to nominate your community projects and highlight deserving individuals to be recognized by their peers. Click on each link to download an award nomination form and consider nominating a community project or individual to be honored during the 2024 NMPP Energy Annual Conference:

Project of the Year Awards - awarded to energy/utility-related projects implemented within the last three years for the overall benefit of the community. Click here to download a nomination form.

Bob Arraj Innovative Service Award - presented to an individual of an NMPP member utility who has excelled in the area of service and/or used innovative technological changes in the utility industry. Click here to download a nomination form.

Rudy Hultgren Dedication Service Award - presented by the Municipal Energy Agency of Nebraska to an individual who displays commendable efforts in promoting public power and its ideals and in exemplifying devotion, dedication to public power and working together for the benefit of the community. Click here to down a nomination form.

Nomination deadline for the awards is Feb. 9, 2024. Email Amber Degner, with any questions.