

# Unapproved Minutes Services Committee Meeting Municipal Energy Agency of Nebraska Younes Conference Center South, 416 W Talmadge Rd. Kearney, NE, 68845 November 13, 2024

The Municipal Energy Agency of Nebraska (MEAN) Services Committee met on Wednesday, November 13, 2024, beginning at 2:33 p.m. (CT), at the Younes Conference Center South, located at 416 W Talmadge Road in Kearney, Nebraska, the designated meeting site. Notice of the meeting was given to committee members by e-mail, and the public was advised by publication both print and online in the Lincoln Journal-Star newspaper and website on October 25, 2024. The notice and agenda were posted upon issuance at the NMPP Energy office, 8377 Glynoaks Drive, Lincoln, Nebraska, and kept continually current and available for public inspection. Meeting information and the current version of the Nebraska Open Meetings Act were made available on NMPP Energy's Public Meeting Information website.

#### CALL TO ORDER

Chair Bill Hinton called the meeting to order at 2:33 p.m. (CT). Pursuant to Section 84-1412 (8) of the Nebraska Open Meetings Act, a current copy of the Open Meetings Act was posted in the meeting room and made available to the public.

#### **ROLL CALL**

A quorum was declared with five of seven committee members and the ex-officio in attendance.

- 1. James DePue Wray, CO
- 2. Justin Forman Aspen, CO
- 3. Bill Hinton Kimball, NE
- 4. Duane Hoffman Oxford, NE
- 5. Janine Schmidt Morrill, NE

Absent: Sandra Hendren - Mitchell, NE and Mike Palmer - Sidney, NE

#### PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

The Public Comment Period was announced, and a review of the rules applicable to the public participation process at MEAN public meetings was provided. There were no public comments.

#### **CONSENT AGENDA**

#### Minutes

Minutes of the August 21, 2024, meeting were previously distributed and included as Attachment A of the meeting packet. There were no changes to the minutes.

#### **Next Meeting**

The next meeting of the MEAN Services Committee will be held on January 22, 2025, at the Younes Conference Center South, located at 416 W Talmadge Rd. in Kearney, Nebraska. In the event of inclement weather, the meeting may be held virtually.

### Consent Resolution

Motion: Janine Schmidt moved to approve the following Consent Resolution. Justin Forman seconded the motion, which carried unanimously on a roll call vote.

#### MEAN SERVICES COMMITTEE CONSENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, certain business of the Services Committee of the Municipal Energy Agency of Nebraska (MEAN) transpires on a regular and routine basis or is not of a controversial nature; and,

WHEREAS, roll-call votes on each individual issue greatly extended the meeting time.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEAN Services Committee that in the interest of economizing time, yet complying with the Open Meetings Act of the State of Nebraska, which requires roll-call voting, the following issues are hereby consolidated in this Consent Resolution:

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED BY the MEAN Services Committee that the minutes of the August 21, 2024 meeting are hereby approved.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED BY the MEAN Services Committee that the next meeting will be held on Wednesday, January 21, 2025 at the Younes Conference Center South, 416 W. Talmadge Rd., Kearney, Nebraska. In the event of inclement weather, the meeting may be held virtually.

# DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY (DOE) RURAL AND MUNICIPAL CYBERSECURITY GRANT UPDATE

Presenter: David Russell, Director of Governmental Affairs and Digital Solutions

An update including the next steps in negotiating for an award under the Department of Energy (DOE) Rural and Municipal Cybersecurity Grant, and project objectives was presented. MEAN was one of ten organizations within the United States that received an award under this grant.

The grant will provide \$2.6 million dollars in funding over a four-year period to be used for cyber security assessments and IT Services for small municipally owned utility systems.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:12 p.m.

Prepared by: Stacy Hendricks Municipal Energy Agency of Nebraska Submitted by:
Brad Hans
Director of Wholesale Electric Operations
Municipal Energy Agency of Nebraska