NMPP member utilities earn national safety awards

May 01, 2018

Four NMPP member utilities were among 108 public power utilities across the nation that earned American Public Power Association’s Safety Award of Excellence for safe operating practices in 2017.

The NMPP member utilities earning awards were: City of Gillette, Wyo., Fort Morgan (Colo.) Municipal Power and Light, Indianola (Iowa) Municipal Utilities, and the Nebraska Public Power District.

Duane Richardson, Chair of the Association’s Safety Committee and Transmission and Distribution Superintendent at Crawfordsville Electric Light and Power in Indiana, presented the awards during the Association’s Engineering and Operations Technical Conference in April.

“Electric utilities value safety above all else,” said Richardson. “The utilities receiving this award have demonstrated exceptional dedication to a culture of safety.”

Over 300 utilities entered the annual Safety Awards, which is the highest number of entrants in the history of the program.

Entrants were placed in categories according to their number of worker hours and ranked based on the most incident-free records during 2017.

The incidence rate, used to judge entries, is based on the number of work-related reportable injuries or illnesses and the number of worker-hours during 2017, as defined by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA).

The Safety Awards have been held annually for the last 59 years.

Click here for a complete list of the winners.